Ernest E. Waters Distinguished Service Award

The Ernest E. Waters Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor bestowed on a member of ISM—Denver. The chapter Board of Directors of 1967-68 year established the award to recognize outstanding service. A committee of past award recipients selects subsequent recipients.

The award is named in honor of Ernest (Ernie) E. Waters, a long-time member and former chapter business manager, for his outstanding contributions and service to the association.

Each year, the award is presented to an ISM—Denver member who has:

  • Demonstrated leadership, both in the Association and in the purchasing profession
  • Provided outstanding service to the Association and to the purchasing profession
  • Made contributions for the advancement of purchasing as a profession
  • Experienced outstanding success in his or her own position.


2015 Susan E. Kellar, C.P.M. Trizetto
2014 Wendy Zollner, C.P.M. Sounds True
2013 Kelly V. Mickelson, C.P.M. Adams County School District 50
2012 James W. Branaugh, C.P.M. Tri-State Generation & Transmission
2011 Dorothy M. Cohen, C.P.M. Boulder Valley School District RE-2
2010 Daniel J. Marin, C.P.M., A.P.P. Cricket Communications
2009 Susan E. Kellar, C.P.M. IHS
2008 Diana L. Ocaña, C.P.M. Aimco Corporation
2007 Harold N. Okocha, C.P.M. HealthTrans
2006 Ginger L. Young, C.P.M. Denver Newspaper Agency
2005 Virginia (Vickki) Klingman, C.P.M. University of Northern Colorado
2004 Stephen R. Robles, C.P.M., CPIM Maxtor Corporation
2003 H Michael Hayes, Ph.D University of Colorado at Denver
2002 MaryAnn Pittman, C.P.M. University of Colorado at Boulder
2001 Michael C Kirby, C.P.M. Mountain View Enterprises
2000 Sandra Schmitzer, C.P.M., CPPO JD Edwards
1999 Douglas Henninger, C.P.M. Denver Water
1998 Jennifer Fowler, C.P.M. KN Energy
1997 D Diane Brown, C.P.M. Ernst & Young
1996 Sally Erickson, C.P.M. Coors Brewing Company
1995 Jerry L Sanburg, C.P.M. CH 2 M Hill
1994 Thomas Sullivan Arapahoe County
1993 Lynn Clever, C.P.M. Full Circle Associates
1992 Preston J Leavitt, PhD., JD., C.P.M.  
1991 Donald R Peterson, C.P.M. Coors Brewing Company
1990 Carol A Coke NAPM-Denver
1989 Janice Beights, C.P.M. Martin Marietta
1988 Wayne Benzen, C.P.M. Rocky Mountain Motor Tariff Bureau
1987 Lawrence Bell , C.P.M. MCI
1986 Richard Sesko City of Aurora
1985 Kenneth Pearce, C.P.M. City of Arvada
1984 Terri Chambers, C.P.M. Samsonite Corp
1983 Robert Lea, C.P.M. Eversman Inc
1982 Donald Dobler, PhD., C.P.M. Colorado State University
1981 Rogers Coke, III C.P.M. University of Colorado, Boulder
1980 Norman Harpole, C.P.M. NCR Corp
1979 Marvin Ward, C.P.M. Storage Technology Corp
1978 Bill Conard, C.P.M. Coors Brewing Co
1977 James B Klein, C.P.M. Denver Water
1976 Al Chase Gates Rubber Co
1975 Bill Gardner Public Service Co. of Colorado
1974 Stan Swenson Climax Molybdenum
1973 Donald K Schwartz, C.P.M. University of Colorado, Boulder
1972 Patrick Glenn, C.P.M. Elba Corp
1971 Tom Childress, C.P.M. Rockmont Envelope
1970 P Raymond Johnson, C.P.M. University of Colorado, Boulder
1969 Bill Sparn FTS Corporation
1968 Ernest E Waters Colorado School of Mines